Professional Awards

We are excited to announce the winners of the 2016 professional awards for the IPMHVC!

Germeshausen Award
Mr. Magne Stangenes, Stangenes Industries

William G. Dunbar Award
Dr. Mark Savage, Sandia National Laboratory

Sol Schneider Award
Dr. Bucur Novac, Loughborough University


The 2016 IEEE International Power Modulator and High Voltage Conference (2016 IPMHVC) will present three professional awards during the conference. Ideally we expect the recipient to be present at the conference to be recognized and receive the award. These awards are The Kenneth J. Germeshausen Award, The William G. Dunbar Award, and The Sol Schneider Award. Description of each award is given below.

The nomination package for all three awards includes:

  • A letter of nomination including a description of the nominee's accomplishments appropriate for the award and the nominator’s credential (not to exceed 2 typed pages);
  • Current curriculum vitae (traditional) and a short narrative bio (no longer than 500 words) of the nominee;
  • At least two letters of reference from colleagues who are familiar with the nominee's accomplishments and contributions.

Award recipients will receive a plaque stating the award, a monetary award of $1,000, and recognition at the conference banquet.

Please submit nomination packages no later than April 1, 2016 to the Professional Awards Chair, James Dickens, TTU (


The Kenneth J. Germeshausen Award:

The Germeshausen Award was established in 1990, at the 19th Power Modulator Symposium. It is named after Kenneth J. Germeshausen, in honor of his pioneering work on power modulators for radar, and for innovation leading to high voltage thyratrons, and for his technical leadership in the field of power modulator technology. The award recognizes outstanding contributions in the science and technology of power modulators and related repetitive pulse power.

Previous Recipients:

  • 2014 Sang H. Nam, Korea Institute of Radiological and Medical Sciences, Korea
  • 2012 Werner Hartmann, Siemens AG Corporate Technology, Erlangen, Germany
  • 2010 Richard L. Cassel, Stangenes Industries, Palo Alto, CA, USA
  • 2008 Hidenori Akiyama, Kumamoto University, Kumamoto, Japan
  • 2006 William C. Nunnally, University of Missouri, Columbia, MO, USA
  • 2004 Klaus Frank, University of Erlangen, Nuremberg, Germany
  • 2004 Nicholas Reinhardt, Diversified Technologies, Inc., Medford, MA, USA
  • 2002 Ken Witham, Siemens Medical Solutions, Inc., Concord, CA, USA
  • 2002 James O'Loughlin, Air Force Research Laboratory, Kirtland AFB, NM, USA
  • 2000 Martin A. Gundersen, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA, USA
  • 2000 Malcolm Buttram, Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, NM, USA

The William G. Dunbar Award:

The William G. Dunbar Award was first established at the 1982 High Voltage Workshop as the "High Voltage Award", and was renamed in 2002 to commemorate William G. Dunbar's lifetime of contributions to high voltage technology and his leadership in the High Voltage Workshops. The Dunbar Award is intended to recognize individuals for continuing contributions to high voltage research, development, or testing technology and for transferring that technology to the engineering and scientific community.

Previous Recipients:

  • 2014 Hulya Kirkici, Auburn University, Auburn, AL, USA
  • 2012 Tangali Sudarshan, University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC, USA
  • 2010 Andreas Neuber, Texas Tech University, Lubbock, TX, USA
  • 2008 Stuart Moran, Naval Surface Weapons Center, Dahlgren, VA, USA
  • 2006 Art Brockschmidt, The Boeing Company, Seattle, WA, USA
  • 2004 Dan M. Goebel, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, CA, USA
  • 2004 Walter J. (Jim) Sargent, University of Buffalo, Buffalo, NY, USA
  • 2002 Lawrence Walko, AF Research Lab., Wright-Patterson AFB, Dayton, OH, USA
  • 2002 Carl I. Belnap, Design Criteria, Inc., Hudson, NH, USA
  • 2000 Karl Schoenbach, Old Dominion University, Norfolk, VA, USA

The Sol Schneider Award:

The Sol Schneider Award was established in 2004 as the Conference Service Award to recognize extensive service, contributions, and leadership, both technically and administratively, in the power modulator and/or high voltage field. The award recognizes both continuing contributions to research, development, and test technology, as well as the dedication to the advancement of the field through fostering the power modulator and high voltage community.

Previous Recipients:

  • 2014 James Dickens, Texas Tech University, Lubbock, TX, USA
  • 2012 Robert Barker, Air Force Office of Scientific Research, Arlington, VA, USA
  • 2010 Hulya Kirkici, Auburn University, Auburn, AL, USA
  • 2010 Martin Gundersen, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA, USA
  • 2008 Daniel L. Schweickart, AF Research Laboratory, Wright-Patterson AFB, Dayton, OH, USA
  • 2006 A. Scott Gilmour, Jr., Emeritus Professor, University of Buffalo, Buffalo, NY, USA
  • 2004 Sol Schneider, Consultant, Red Bank, NJ, USA