Professional Awards

The IPMHVC Executive Committee will present three professional awards during the 2018 IPMHVC event.  Ideally we expect the recipient to be present at the conference to be recognized and receive the award.  Award recipients will receive a plaque stating the award, a monetary award of $1,000, and recognition at the conference banquet.

We are very pleased to announce the distinguished recipients of the 2018 IPMHVC awards:

  • 2018 Kenneth Germeshausen Award recipient is Prof. Weihua Jiang, Extreme Energy Density Research Institute, Nagaoka University of Technology, Japan for “outstanding contribution and technical leadership in the area of power modulator and repetitive pulsed power systems
  • 2018 William Dunbar Award recipient is Prof. Tao Shao, Institute of Electrical Engineering, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China for “continuing contributions to high voltage technology, research into the domain of fast electrical breakdown phenomena, and engineering education
  • 2018 Sol Schneider Award recipient is Dr. Frank Hegeler, Naval Research Laboratory, USA for “extensive and continuing contributions in service and leadership in the IPMHVC community and conference administration


Award nomination packages are due December 22, 2017.  Please email the completed nomination package to the Professional Awards Chair.  A complete nomination package includes:

  • Letter of nomination including a description of the nominee’s accomplishments appropriate for the award and the nominator’s credential (not to exceed 2 typed pages)
  • Current curriculum vitae (traditional) and a short narrative bio (no longer than 500 words) of the nominee
  • At least two letters of reference from colleagues who are familiar with the nominee’s accomplishments and contributions

The Kenneth J. Germeshausen Award

The Germeshausen Award was established in 1990, at the 19th Power Modulator Symposium. It is named after Kenneth J. Germeshausen, in honor of his pioneering work on power modulators for radar, and for innovation leading to high voltage thyratrons, and for his technical leadership in the field of power modulator technology. The award recognizes outstanding contributions in the science and technology of power modulators and related repetitive pulse power.

Previous Recipients:

  • 2016 Magne Stangenes, Stangenes Industries, Palo Alto, CA, USA
  • 2014 Sang H. Nam, Korea Institute of Radiological and Medical Sciences, Korea
  • 2012 Werner Hartmann, Siemens AG Corporate Technology, Erlangen, Germany
  • 2010 Richard L. Cassel, Stangenes Industries, Palo Alto, CA, USA
  • 2008 Hidenori Akiyama, Kumamoto University, Kumamoto, Japan
  • 2006 William C. Nunnally, University of Missouri, Columbia, MO, USA
  • 2004 Klaus Frank, University of Erlangen, Nuremberg, Germany
  • 2004 Nicholas Reinhardt, Diversified Technologies, Inc., Medford, MA, USA
  • 2002 Ken Witham, Siemens Medical Solutions, Inc., Concord, CA, USA
  • 2002 James O’Loughlin, Air Force Research Laboratory, Kirtland AFB, NM, USA
  • 2000 Martin A. Gundersen, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA, USA
  • 2000 Malcolm Buttram, Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, NM, USA

The William G. Dunbar Award

The William G. Dunbar Award was first established at the 1982 High Voltage Workshop as the “High Voltage Award”, and was renamed in 2002 to commemorate William G. Dunbar’s lifetime of contributions to high voltage technology and his leadership in the High Voltage Workshops. The Dunbar Award is intended to recognize individuals for continuing contributions to high voltage research, development, or testing technology and for transferring that technology to the engineering and scientific community.

Previous Recipients:

  • 2016 Mark Savage, Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, NM, USA
  • 2014 Hulya Kirkici, Auburn University, Auburn, AL, USA
  • 2012 Tangali Sudarshan, University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC, USA
  • 2010 Andreas Neuber, Texas Tech University, Lubbock, TX, USA
  • 2008 Stuart Moran, Naval Surface Weapons Center, Dahlgren, VA, USA
  • 2006 Art Brockschmidt, The Boeing Company, Seattle, WA, USA
  • 2004 Dan M. Goebel, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, CA, USA
  • 2004 Walter J. (Jim) Sargent, University of Buffalo, Buffalo, NY, USA
  • 2002 Lawrence Walko, AF Research Lab., Wright-Patterson AFB, Dayton, OH, USA
  • 2002 Carl I. Belnap, Design Criteria, Inc., Hudson, NH, USA
  • 2000 Karl Schoenbach, Old Dominion University, Norfolk, VA, USA

The Sol Schneider Award

The Sol Schneider Award was established in 2004 as the Conference Service Award to recognize extensive service, contributions, and leadership, both technically and administratively, in the power modulator and/or high voltage field. The award recognizes both continuing contributions to research, development, and test technology, as well as the dedication to the advancement of the field through fostering the power modulator and high voltage community.

Previous Recipients:

  • 2016 Bucur Novac, Loughborough University, Loughborough, UK
  • 2014 James Dickens, Texas Tech University, Lubbock, TX, USA
  • 2012 Robert Barker, Air Force Office of Scientific Research, Arlington, VA, USA
  • 2010 Hulya Kirkici, Auburn University, Auburn, AL, USA
  • 2010 Martin Gundersen, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA, USA
  • 2008 Daniel L. Schweickart, AF Research Laboratory, Wright-Patterson AFB, Dayton, OH, USA
  • 2006 A. Scott Gilmour, Jr., Emeritus Professor, University of Buffalo, Buffalo, NY, USA
  • 2004 Sol Schneider, Consultant, Red Bank, NJ, USA