Student Awards

The IPMHVC Executive Committee will present two student awards during the 2018 IPMHVC event.  Ideally we expect the recipient to be present at the conference to be recognized and receive the award.  Students applying for an award must be an author or co-author of an abstract submitted to the conference.  To be considered for the graduate level awards, nominees must be current graduate students or recent graduate degree recipients (within 18 months prior to the conference date) and should be members of IEEE at the time of the award presentation.  Award recipients will receive a plaque stating the award, a monetary award of $1,000, and recognition at the conference banquet.

Award nomination packages are due March 15, 2018.  More information on nomination requirements will be available shortly.

High Voltage Association Student Excellence Award

The High Voltage Association Student Excellence Award was established in 2008 to recognize the contributions made by a graduate student in the area of high voltage systems, components, research, and technology.  Nominations for this award should emphasize the high voltage technology and design aspects that have been incorporated into a project in the extended version of the submitted abstract.  The High Voltage Association, formed by several companies who have products and research in high voltage systems and components, financially sponsors the award.

Previous Recipients:

  • 2016 Roya Nikjoo, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
  • 2014 Kaashif A.M. Omar, Loughborough University, UK
  • 2012 Fahd Banakhr, Loughborough University, UK
  • 2010 James A. VanGordon, University of Missouri, USA
  • 2008 James Thomas Camp, Old Dominion University, USA

Tom R. Burkes Student Awards

In 2002, the IEEE International Power Modulator Conference created two Student Awards in honor of Dr. Tom R. Burkes, Professor, Texas Tech University (1937-1998).  The awards are:

  • Outstanding Graduate Student Award: established to recognize contributions by a graduate student in engineering, science, or technology associated with power modulation, power electronics, or repetitive pulsed power.
  • Exceptional Undergraduate Student Award: Established to recognize and encourage an outstanding undergraduate student in his/her early career in engineering, science, or technology associated with power modulation, power electronics or repetitive pulsed power.

Previous Recipients (Graduate unless noted):

  • 2016 Martin Hochberg, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
  • 2016 Isaac Cohen, University of Texas at Arlington, USA
  • 2014 Hanyu Ye, Bergische Universitat Wuppertal, Germany
  • 2014 Andrew Fierro, Texas Tech University, USA
  • 2012 Kevin O’Connor, University of Missouri, USA
  • 2012 George Laity, Texas Tech University, USA
  • 2010 Dongdong Wang, Fudan University, China
  • 2010 Titus Chen, (Undergraduate) Ohio State University, USA
  • 2008 Kalyan Koppisetty, Auburn University, USA
  • 2008 Daniel Weida, Helmut Schmidt University, Germany
  • 2006 John Krile, Texas Tech University, USA
  • 2006 Michael Wolf, Tel-Aviv University, Israel
  • 2004 Shu Xiao, Old Dominion University, USA
  • 2004 Matthew Behrend, (Undergraduate) University of Southern California, USA
  • 2002 Kelly D. Hahn, University of New Mexico, USA
  • 2002 Matthew Behrend, (Undergraduate) University of Southern California, USA